Search This Blog

Sunday, August 14, 2011

figuring it out


So, our mistake...When we wanted to eat dessert in Saint Re'my, (by the way, how do I make an accent mark when typing?? Since I do not know how I am using the apostrophe) Anyway, for JUST dessert we should have gone to a Salon de The'. At a Salon de The' you can have a salad or other simple meals OR just have dessert, or a coffee. But you CANNOT get a coffee "to go" anywhere. At a restaurant, however, you have at least two, or more typically three, courses.
No, no Starbucks anywhere in Provence. It might be considered a personal affront to the French people to walk around with a coffee. When we were skyping with Sean on Friday evening (Friday morning for him) he was sitting there with his disposable coffee cup and lid and I was really jealous! Especially this morning, Soledad and Jaques picked me up at 9 am to go to the antiques fair in Barjac. We all slept until 8:30 so I was rushing to get ready and make my coffee. I took my coffee cup in the car and they were kind of laughing at me.
I was explaining to them that most Americans that I know get heir coffee in a "to go" cup and take it with them in the car, shopping or on a walk. It is so weird that it is a foreign concept here!
Barjac was another beautiful village and the antiques fair < http://www.souffledevent.com/website-english/Barjac.eng.htm > was a an endless "flea market". Very fun but nothing seemed worth adding to our luggage that I will be carrying along with Dylan, Reese, Sloane and all of our crap on the train to Paris (this Friday!).



No comments:

Post a Comment